San Gabriel

Pastoral Region

San Gabriel Parishes

66 parishes

2 Eastern Rite Catholic Churches

San Gabriel Schools

49 Elementary Schools

14 High Schools

San Gabriel Pastoral Region


East Los Angeles through San Gabriel and Pomona Valleys

2 Seminaries

4 Cemeteries

San Gabriel Pastoral Region

Interactive map at

It covers Deaneries 9-12 and has 66 parishes in the region, 23 in the city of Los Angeles and 43 in the 29 cities that reflect Spanish history and famous pioneers (such as Alhambra, Pasadena, San Marino and Rowland Heights). The Mother Church of the Archdiocese is San Gabriel Mission, founded in 1771, and named for Archangel Gabriel. The area includes the San Gabriel, East L.A. and Pomona valleys.

Ethnic Masses are celebrated in Spanish, Vietnamese, Filipino, Indonesian, Chinese, Arabic and Korean, in the region which also includes the Armenian Eastern Catholic Church, Our Lady Queen of Martyrs.

There are 14 high schools, three retreat centers (Mater Dolorosa, Sacred Heart and St. Joseph) and four archdiocesan cemeteries (with San Gabriel Mission Cemetery as the oldest). La Purisma Chapel is a parochial mission of Our Lady of the Rosary of Talpa.

The Most Reverend David G. O’Connell is the regional auxiliary bishop of the San Gabriel Pastoral Region. The succession for the region includes Msgr. James Loughnane (Episcopal Vicar, 2012-2015), Bishop Gabino Zavala (1994-2012), Bishop Juan Arzube (1986-1994), and Bishop William Levada (1986).

San Gabriel Events

See the upcoming events in your region.

View Calendar Here

Most Reverend David Gerard O’Connell, D.D., V.G. 
Auxiliary Bishop

Born July 16, 1953 in County Cork, Ireland, Bishop O’Connell was ordained a priest June 10, 1979 at All Hallows College in Dublin, Ireland. He was elevated to Monsignor on November 30, 1999; appointed Titular Bishop of Cell Ausaille and Auxiliary Bishop of Los Angeles on July 21, 2015. On September 8, 2015 he was ordained Bishop at the Cathedral of Our Lady of the Angels. That same day he was appointed Episcopal Vicar of the San Gabriel Pastoral Region.


Assistant to the Regional Bishop:

Deacon Sergio Perez

Regional Deans (Vicars Forane)

Deanery 9: Msgr. John T. Moretta, V.F.

Deanery 10: Fr. John M. Kyebasuuta, V.F.

Deanery 11: Fr. William T. Easterling, V.F.

Deanery 12: Msgr. Timothy E. Nichols, V.F.

Parishes in this Region

Deanery 9 Deanery 10 Deanery 11 Deanery 12
All Saints, Los Angeles

Assumption, Los Angeles

Dolores Mission “Our Lady of Sorrows Parish”, Los Angeles

Our Lady Help of Christians, Los Angeles

Our Lady of Guadalupe (Hammel), Los Angeles

Our Lady of Guadalupe (Rose Hill), Los Angeles

Our Lady of Guadalupe Sanctuary, Los Angeles

Our Lady of Lourdes, Los Angeles

Our Lady of Solitude “La Soledad”, Los Angeles

Our Lady of the Rosary of Talpa, Los Angeles

Our Lady of Victory, Los Angeles

Our Lady Queen of Martyrs (Armenian), Los Angeles

Resurrection, Los Angeles

Sacred Heart, Los Angeles

St. Alphonsus, Los Angeles

St. Camillus Center, Los Angeles

St. Lucy, Los Angeles

St. Marcellinus, Los Angeles

St. Mary, Los Angeles

San Antonio de Padua, Los Angeles

San Francisco, Los Angeles

Santa Isabel “St. Elizabeth”, Los Angeles

Santa Teresita, Los Angeles


All Souls, Alhambra

Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary, Pasadena

Holy Family, South Pasadena

Mission San Gabriel, San Gabriel

Our Lady of the Miraculous Medal, Montebello

Sacred Heart, Altadena

St. Andrew, Pasadena

St. Anthony, San Gabriel

St. Benedict, Montebello

St. Elizabeth, Altadena

St. Luke the Evangelist, Temple City

St. Philip the Apostle, Pasadena

St. Pius X (Syro-Malabar), Montebello

St. Rita, Sierra Madre

St. Stephen Martyr, Monterey Park

St. Therese, Alhambra

St. Thomas Aquinas, Monterey Park

St. Thomas More, Alhambra

Ss. Felicitas and Perpetua, San Marino






Annunciation, Monrovia

Epiphany, South El Monte

Holy Angels, Arcadia

Immaculate Conception, Monrovia

Nativity, El Monte

Our Lady of Guadalupe, El Monte

Our Lady of Guadalupe, Irwindale

Sacred Heart, Covina

St. Christopher, West Covina

St. Dorothy, Glendora

St. Frances of Rome, Azusa

St. John the Baptist, Baldwin Park

St. Jude (Maronite), West Covina

St. Louis of France, La Puente

St. Louise de Marillac, Covina








Holy Name of Mary, San Dimas

Our Lady of the Assumption, Claremont

Sacred Heart, Pomona

St. Denis, Diamond Bar

St. Elizabeth Ann Seton, Rowland Heights

St. John Vianney, Hacienda Heights

St. Joseph, Pomona

St. Joseph, La Puente

St. Lorenzo Ruiz, Walnut

St. Madeleine, Pomona

St. Martha, Valinda















Office of San Gabriel Region:
16009 Cypress Ave.
Irwindale, CA 91706-2122

Office Phone Number: (626) 960-9344

Meet the Staff

Most Reverend David O’Connell
Auxiliary Bishop of Los Angeles
San Gabriel Pastoral Region
P: 626.960.9344

Deacon Sergio Perez
Regional Assistant to Bishop David O’Connell

Sylvia Woodson
Executive Assistant

Damaris Molina-Morales
San Gabriel Regional Coordinator
Religious Education

Nancy Juarez




Join San Gabriel: Sanctitas

Sanctitas is a ministry created to make Jesus available to young adults at monthly adoration nights accompanied by time for confession and fellowship to follow. Learn more about when young adults in San Gabriel meet.

Join Us
“I would love to see all our parishes in San Gabriel Pastoral Region using the Gospel Reflection Process as part of parish life.”

-Bishop O’Connell

Gospel Reflections (English)

Bishop O’Connell invites you to use these weekly reflections to build spiritual unity among our people. When people are coming together for ministry meetings, pastoral council meeting or any gatherings in the parish, do this Gospel Reflection Process.

View Page

Gospel Reflections (Spanish)

El obispo O’Connell los invita a usar estas reflexiones semanales para construir la unidad espiritual entre nuestro pueblo. Cuando las personas se reúnan para reuniones ministeriales, reuniones del consejo pastoral o cualquier reunión en la parroquia, haga este Proceso de Reflexión del Evangelio.

Ver Pagina Aqui


The Archdiocese comprises three counties — Los Angeles, Ventura and Santa Barbara – all divided into five pastoral regions). The Directory lists all address and telephone information of archdiocesan offices, parishes, schools and seminaries, as well as services/outreach programs within the Archdiocese.

View Page