Santa Barbara

Pastoral Region

Santa Barbara Parishes

37 Parishes

1 Eastern Rite Catholic Churches

Santa Barbara Schools

17 Elementary Schools

7 High Schools

Santa Barbara Pastoral Region


Santa Barbara and Ventura Counties

4 Seminaries

3 Cemeteries

Santa Barbara Pastoral Region

Interactive map at

It covers Deaneries 1-4 and there are 37 parishes in the region in 19 cities that are located in the two counties of Ventura and Santa Barbara – the largest in area of the five regions.

Four of the original California Missions are in the region – La Purisima Concepcion (1787), Santa Ines (1804), Santa Barbara (the Queen of the Missions) (1786), and *San Buenaventura (1782).

*San Buenaventura is now a Minor Basilica. 

The most remote inland parish is in New Cuyama -Immaculate Conception- and the most remote from Los Angeles is in Guadalupe on the Central Coast -Our Lady of Guadalupe. Three chapels are on military bases -Port Hueneme, Point Mugu and Vandenberg.

St. John’s Seminary for the archdiocese is in the region, opened in 1939 and is located in Camarillo. The region is home to over 1 million Catholics.

The Most Reverend Slawomir Szkredka is the regional auxiliary bishop of the Santa Barbara Pastoral Region. The succession for the region includes Reverend Leon Hutton, Episcopal Vicar (August 2022-September 2023, Most Reverend Robert E. Barron (2015-2022), Msgr. Michael J. Jennett (Episcopal Vicar, 2013-2015), Bishop Thomas J. Curry (1994-2013), Msgr. John Rohde, Episcopal Vicar (1992-1994), and Bishop Patrick Ziemann (1986-1992).

Santa Barbara Events

See the upcoming events in your region.

View Calendar Here

Most Reverend Slawomir Szkredka

Auxiliary Bishop

Born May 12, 1974 in Czechowice-Dziedzice, Poland. Bishop Szkredka attended Kraków’s Metropolitan Seminary and continued at SS. Cyril & Methodius Seminary in Orchard Lake, Michigan. He was ordained a priest for the Archdiocese of Los Angeles in 2002. He was Parochial Vicar at St. Genevieve Church in Panorama City and at St. John the Baptist Church in Baldwin Park, before beginning graduate studies at the Pontifical Biblical Institute in Rome in 2008. He returned to the Los Angeles Archdiocese to serve as a professor and formator at St. John’s Seminary in 2015 and earned his doctorate in Sacred Scripture in 2017. On September 26, 2023 he was ordained Bishop at the Cathedral of Our Lady of the Angels. That same day he was appointed Episcopal Vicar of the Santa Barbara Pastoral Region​.

Assistant to the Regional Bishop:

Deacon Chris Sandner

Regional Deans (Vicars Forane)

Deanery 1: Fr. Altaire Fernandez, V.F.

Deanery 2: Fr. Lawrence Seyer, V.F.

Deanery 3: Fr. Leon Hutton, V.F.

Deanery 4: Fr. Riz Carranza, V.F.

Parishes in this Region
Deanery 1 Deanery 2 Deanery 3 Deanery 4
Immaculate Conception, New Cuyama

Mission La Purisima Concepción, Lompoc

Old Mission Santa Inés, Solvang

Our Lady of Guadalupe, Guadalupe

Queen of Angels, Lompoc

St. John Neumann, Santa Maria

St. Louis de Montfort, Santa Maria

St. Mary of the Assumption, Santa Maria







Holy Cross, Santa Barbara

Mission Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara

Our Lady of Guadalupe, Santa Barbara

Our Lady of Mount Carmel, Santa Barbara

Our Lady of Sorrows, Santa Barbara

St. Joseph, Carpinteria

St. Mark University Parish, Goleta

St. Raphael, Santa Barbara

San Roque, Santa Barbara







Mary Star of the Sea, Oxnard

Mission Basilica San Buenaventura, Ventura

Our Lady of Guadalupe, Oxnard

Our Lady of Guadalupe, Santa Paula

Our Lady of the Assumption, Ventura

Sacred Heart, Ventura

St. Anthony, Oxnard

St. Francis of Assisi, Fillmore

St. Sebastian, Santa Paula

St. Thomas Aquinas, Ojai

Santa Clara, Oxnard




Holy Cross, Moorpark

St. Jude the Apostle, Westlake Village

St. Julie Billiart, Newbury Park

St. Junipero Serra, Camarillo

St. Mary Magdalen, Camarillo

St. Maximilian Kolbe, Westlake Village

St. Paschal Baylon, Thousand Oaks

St. Peter Claver, Simi Valley

St. Rose of Lima, Simi Valley








Office of Santa Barbara Region:
3240 Calle Pinon
Santa Barbara, CA 93105
Phone Number: (805) 682-0442

Office of Religious Education for Santa Barbara Region:
Mailing Address: 
P.O. Box 6837
Santa Maria, CA 93456
P: (805) 569-1135

Meet the Staff

Most Reverend Slawomir Szkredka

Auxiliary Bishop of Los Angeles – Santa Barbara Pastoral Region

Load More Items


The Archdiocese comprises three counties — Los Angeles, Ventura and Santa Barbara – all divided into five pastoral regions). The Directory lists all address and telephone information of archdiocesan offices, parishes, schools and seminaries, as well as services/outreach programs within the Archdiocese.

View Page